Charging to 80%, does it really matter?

All Skoda Enyaq related discussions
james_scott22

Post by james_scott22 »

I know we are told to only charge to 80% to preserve the battery, and the car has a prompt recommending this. But assuming I'll only own the car for a couple more years on my lease, do we believe it really makes a difference? Charging to 90% would mean I could get two commutes out of my car between charges!
Enyaq 60 suite arctic silver

Goaty

Post by Goaty »

james_scott22 wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 9:44 am I know we are told to only charge to 80% to preserve the battery, and the car has a prompt recommending this. But assuming I'll only own the car for a couple more years on my lease, do we believe it really makes a difference? Charging to 90% would mean I could get two commutes out of my car between charges!

Are you generally home-charging at no more than 7kWh? I’m not an expert and might quite possibly be corrected by someone, but I think it might be fast charging above 80% which could cause more issues than ‘trickling’ at 7kWh.
Plus I think sitting on a 100% charged battery for a few days is worse, than using it almost straight away after charging (on a regular commute for example).

I think your question will get some good opinions 👍
iV80 Loft, Black, 21” Betria, 125kW, Climate Plus, Asst Drive Basic. Tethered PodPoint. Ordered May 2021. Delivered Nov 2021. Regrettably returned Jan 2024 (Company car. Changed jobs).
RichR

Post by RichR »

The main detrimental effects on lithium battery life are caused by leaving it at a high state of charge for an extended length of time. However if you charge at home to 100% overnight and then drive somewhere at 8am, then it isn't going to be at a high state of charge for very long, so not really a problem.